Do You Want to Stay Productive?

Do You Want to Stay Productive?

What’s the question to which clean code development is the answer? I think it is: Do you want to stay productive? I mean, indefinitely. I mean, being productive in a sustainable way. That means, clean code development is not the answer to questions regarding runtime...
Structure Code for Rewriting

Structure Code for Rewriting

From a certain point on it becomes very tedious, frustrating, and expensive to change code in order to implement some new requirement. For a while clean coding and refactoring help – but in the end it’s undeniable: the existing code is more of a burden, a...
Forecast vs Estimation – A clarification

Forecast vs Estimation – A clarification

Is there a difference between estimating and forecasting? I think there is. After my previous article on forecasting there was a discussion about whether I used these terms properly. I was referred to Wikipedia for „forecasting“ with the comment „Every forecast is an...
Messaging – The Missing Ingredient

Messaging – The Missing Ingredient

Robert C. Martin wrote an interesting article on the orthogonality of Object-Orientation (OO) and Functional Programming (FP). There is no rivalry between the two, or at least should not be. Both approaches have their merits. FP and OO work nicely together. Both...

Unterschätztes Chaos

Unterschätztes Chaos

Was, wenn das Problem in Unternehmen nicht Komplexität ist, sondern Chaos? Was, wenn Agilität das Gute gewollt und das Schlechte bewirkt hat? Es wurde nicht nur notwendige Komplexität hergestellt (requisite variety im Sinne von Ashby’s Gesetz), sondern es ist Chaos...
Bequeme Abstraktion ganz konkret

Bequeme Abstraktion ganz konkret

Bei der Lektüre von „Clean Architecture“ ist mir aufgefallen, dass Robert C. Martin immer wieder von Abstraktion spricht. Er beschreibt sogar eine Metrik für den Grad der Abstraktion von „Komponenten“: Abstraktheit A = Na / Nc Mit Na für die Zahl der...
Nachhaltig wertvolle Software liefern

Nachhaltig wertvolle Software liefern

Unter der Lupe zeigt sich, dass das Agile Manifest nicht nur auf working software abzielt, sondern auf valuable software. Das ist jedenfalls mein Ergebnis einer näheren Betrachtung. Es geht darum, wertvolle Software in nachhaltiger Weise zu liefern. Und dafür braucht...
Das Agile Manifest unter der Lupe

Das Agile Manifest unter der Lupe

Dass Softwareprojekte und Produktteams nicht so vorankommen, wie sie möchten, treibt mich immer wieder um. Woran liegt das? Sogar dort, wo man versucht, Agilität zu leben, ist der Frust nicht klein. Dort gesellt sich sogar noch eine Überraschung dazu: „Nun versuchen...